Posted by: Peter Hartel | February 25, 2010

Happenings to Feb 24th

 I think I should remind all readers that my role, along with a great team of 8, is to provide all levels of support to the German delegation at the Whistler site. This site is the Athletes Village exclusively — on a daily basis we do a lot of driving to and from venues, undertake special shopping trips, source hard-to-get stuff, host guided tours of the Village by dignitaries, and ensure that the Germans have a ramped-up, fully decorated and spotless residence area. 

A few interesting things have punctuated our usually-routine days at the Athletes Village.

  • governer general Michaelle Jean visit to Athletes village
  • we hosted a barbeque for our office staff and athletes — the “Bob” men can sure pack away a lot of chow! And if you think it’s easy finding a barbeque and THEN getting it into the fully secured Village, you would be wrong.

 

  • I hosted a group of German Youth athletes today – -these are future Olympic stars.  As a special treat they got to eat at the athlete’s dining tent.

And, somewhat surprisingly, all 10 of them bolted to the Macdonalds counter for their first round! What is it about Macdonald’s and Europeans anyway???

  • Shlepped luge and skeleton ‘coffins’, loaded them into transports. These weigh about 130 kilos each.

Responses

  1. Peter, I Just love reading your soundbites and stories from the Olympics! I’m enthralled at any bit I can catch of the Vancouver games which is a lot thanks to my varied schedule and strong patriotic interest! I find myself “vaclempt”(sp?) often at all the special moments and with being able to hear about your inside experiences, thanks!

  2. Loving your pics Peter! I think my favourite moment of the Olympics has been watching the Canadian womens ‘bobs’ win gold and silver. Huge!! Deb

  3. Hey Brother ~ You are the PERFECT person for this job – you know how to make these people feel at home and set them up powerfully…so proud of you! Love, Katherine


Leave a comment

Categories